Math In The Sun Xt

Annual FTYCMA Fall Retreat

Friday, October 6, 2023 Saturday, October 7, 2023

Florida Two-Year College Mathematics Association

DISCUSSION STRANDS

Strand I: Mathematics Pathways
Florida Senate Bill 366 and Its Effects

Strand II: "New" Courses

MGF 1130 - Mathematically Thinking

MGF 1131 - Mathematics in Context



South Lake Campus Cooper Memorial Library 1250 N. Hancock Road Clermont, FL 34711

FTYCMA Math In The Sun XXI

Cooper Memorial Library, Room 108

Friday, October 6, 2023

12-12:30 pm
12:30-12:50 pm
12:50-1 pm nematics
1-2 pm orida College System
2:15-3:15 pm a ille ge
3:30-4:45 pm

Day One Wrap Up4:45-5 pm Sybil Brown and Don Ransford
Social Hour & Visit with Publishers5-6 pm Social Hour Courtesy of Dr. Laura Byrd, Sr. Vice President of Institutional Advancement
Saturday, October 7, 2023
Registration and Check-In8:15-8:45 am
Welcome
Spotlight on Florida Gateway College
Transition to Break-out Rooms9:10 am
Share Session in Smaller Groups9:20-10:30 am
Break 10:30 - 10:45 am
Publisher Presentations
Hawkes Learning - Sydney Smith Lumen Learning - Lacee Pyles (Averie Connell) McGraw Hill/Aleks - LaMar Hester & Dana Sibley Pearson Learning - Alicia Wilson (Naomi Bahary, Bill Leonard)
Hawkes Learning - Sydney Smith Lumen Learning - Lacee Pyles (Averie Connell) McGraw Hill/Aleks - LaMar Hester & Dana Sibley Pearson Learning - Alicia Wilson (Naomi Bahary, Bill Leonard) Wiley/Knewton Alta - Lonn Favors Closing Remarks

REMINDERS: (Check FTYCMA Website for Details)

- AMATYC Conference, Nov 9-12, 2023, Omaha, Nebraska
- **FTYCMA Officer Nominations**
- 2024 FTYCMA Teaching Excellence Award
- Joint FL-MAA/FTYCMA Conference, Florida Gulf Coast Univ, Feb 23-24, 2024
- FTYCMA Annual Business Meeting, February 23, 2024 at the Joint Conference

FTYCMA Officers February 2022 - February 2024

President Sybil Brown, Lake-Sumter State College

Vice President-Programs Don Ransford, Florida Southwestern State College **Newsletter Editor** Dr. Sandra Seifert, Florida Southwestern State College

Webmaster C. Altay Özgener, State College of Florida Past President Dr. Joni Pirnot, State College of Florida Membership Coordinator Dr. Dennis Runde, State College of Florida Robert Shollar, State College of Florida Historian Secretary Rebecca Williams, State College of Florida

Dr. Ryan Kasha, Valencia College Treasurer

President-Elect Dr. Sidra Van De Car, Valencia College

A special thanks to: LSSC President, Dr. Heather Bigard; Sr. Vice President of Institutional Advancement, Dr. Laura Byrd; Vice President of Academic Affairs, Karen Hogans; Mathematics Dean, Awilda Lopez; Foundation Assistant Director, Kathy Ingold; Executive Director of Events, Sandra Stephenson; Events Manager, Sherry Pelfrey; and the Events, Technology, Facilities and Mathematics Departments for their incredible support of the FTYCMA Retreat.

FTYCMA Officers also extend a hearty thanks to our retreat attendees, panelists, college spotlighters, presenters, discussion facilitators and sponsors.









