Florida Two-Year College Mathematics Association Florida Southern College February 15, 2008

Byron Dyce, president, opened the meeting with an introduction of the officers. Mike Jamieson, treasurer, reported a balance of \$2119.97 in the checking account with a lifetime membership of 51 members and annual members of 82.

We were reminded that officer's meetings are open to all members who wish to attend and that they are encouraged to do so.

It was announced that the website has changed and can now be reached by <a href="http://mcc1.mccfl.edu/ftycma/default.htm">http://mcc1.mccfl.edu/ftycma/default.htm</a>
For those that cannot remember this address, it can also be reached through both the MAA and the AMATYC websites.

Guesna Dohrman honored the out-going president Byron Dyce with a picture of the "Lean Wolves", the runners who trained together in the 1970's, a group to which he belonged.

The annual membership dues have increased to \$10, which causes the lifetime dues to become \$150, 15 times the annual dues. Membership is for the calendar year and will include reduced registration fees for that year.

Scott Hochwald of the University of North Florida announced that the 2-year Math Olympics will be held April 19. We agreed that this community college competition can include any first or second year student. Scott requested up to \$500 in support from FTYCMA. Martha Goshaw moved that we contribute \$500. This was approved. Last year's winning team was introduced by Mike Mears.

The Fall Retreat will be held October 3-4 at the Tarpon Springs campus of St. Petersburg College. The unofficial cost will be \$30 for advanced registration (\$25 for members) and \$40 for those registering later. There is a plan to change the format of the course objectives of the state course numbering system so

as to be similar to the Sunshine State Standards. Because of this proposed change, our focus will be on these objectives.

Mike Mears discussed the Mu Alpha Theta math competition that his college had in the fall. They plan to repeat it again next year.

Don Ransford announced that the recipient of the Teaching Excellence Award is Steve Grosteffon of Santa Fe Community College. Byron Dyce, his department chairman, described Steve's many accomplishments.

Don then presented Byron with his award for serving as president of FTYCMA for the past 2 years and introduced the following officers for the next 2 years: Don Ransford, president; Deepankar (Ric) Pal, president-elect; Janette Campbell, secretary; Mike Jamieson, treasurer; Newsletter Editor, Rick Pal; Vice President of Programs, Sharon Griggs; Membership Committee chair, Ryan Kasha; Webmaster, Altay Özgener; Retreat Coordinators, Sharon Griggs and Beth Goodbread; Historian, Mike Mears.

Next year's meeting will be held February 20-21 at Gulf Coast University in Ft. Myers.